St. Anthony’s Church


The First Station:

Jesus is condemned to death

The Second Station:

Jesus takes up the cross

The Third Station:

Jesus falls the first time

The Fourth Station:

Jesus meets his Blessed Mother

The Fifth Station:

The cross is laid upon Simon of Cyrene

The Sixth Station:

Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

The Seventh Station:

Jesus falls the second time

The Eighth Station:

The women of Jerusalem weep for Our Lord

The Ninth Station:

Jesus falls the third time

The Tenth Station:

Jesus is stripped of his garments

The Eleventh Station:

Jesus is nailed to the cross

The Twelfth Station:

Jesus dies on the cross

The Thirteenth Station:

Jesus is taken down from the cross

The Fourteenth Station:

Jesus is placed in the sepulchre

Statue of Madonna and Child (carved by Pauline Mulligan to mark the millennium in 2000)

Pauline notes: Spiritual meaning to be included in finalising design.

Two phrases kept occurring:

"God is the centre of the universe"

"All paths lead to the Lord"

By making the Holy Infant the focal point, God is the centre of the design.

To emphasise the focal point, all lines in the design lead to the Holy Infant.

Stations of the Cross

The devotion of following Christ on his journey from his trial to his death and burial, called “The Way of the Cross” has been attributed to St. Francis of Assisi. In latter years, some churches have added a fifteenth station, depicting the Resurrection.

 Our Stations came from a convent in Sidmouth. They were probably carved by specialist religious carvers on the Continent. They are remarkable for their attention to detail.

Left - hand wall carving (carved by Pauline Mulligan, together with its  right - hand counterpart, at the request of Father Joseph)

This panel represents St. Anthony: the lily for purity, the bible for wisdom, the fish because he was reputed to have preached to the fishes.

The Alpha and Omega (the Beginning and the End) are universal symbols of the Godhead.

Right - hand wall carving.

In the right-hand panel, the bread and grapes

represent the Eucharist; the Paschal Lamb is

Christ our Saviour.